Criminal Lawyer in Sacramento

Being falsely accused of child abuse can ruin lives and professional careers.

Publicized events have highlighted situations in which authorities failed to protect children by not intervening fast enough. Unfortunately for the accused this now often means that the authorities will act first and ask questions later. More often than not child abuse allegations start with a complaint to law enforcement filed by someone outside the home. Often charges of child abuse or child endangerment arise after a complaint started by a “mandated reporter.” A mandated reporter in the child abuse context can be a teacher, a caretaker, a pediatric nurse or other professional who has regular contact with children in the course of their work. The law imposes on people within such professions the duty to report suspected physical abuse, sexual abuse or any other type of abuse or evidence of neglect. For the purposes of fulfilling the mandated reporting laws, abuse is typically suspected when the child seems to have suffered physical injury other than in an accidental way, has injuries or has other signs of a condition resulting from abuse or neglect. Such conditions may include sexual molestation, physical exploitation, and even malnutrition. Continue reading “CHILD ABUSE”



Criminal Defense Attorney in Sacramento

In the fall of 2001, Kaitlyn’s Law was passed in the state of California that makes it illegal to leave a child unattended in a motorized vehicle. The law originates after Kaitlyn Russell died after being left alone in a car for two hours. If a parent, legal guardian or any one who is over 12 years older and responsible for the supervision of someone under 6 years old could be found in violation under certain circumstances. If there are conditions that present significant risk to a child’s health or safety such as a set outdoor temperature that becomes it unsafe inside. Continue reading “LEAVING A CHILD UNATTENDED IN A CAR”



Sacramento Domestic Violence Lawyer
Law Offices of Alin Cintean has established itself as a leading California domestic violence law firm, having successfully handled numerous domestic violence cases in Sacramento County. We are dedicated to defending your rights and providing you with the highest quality legal representation.

Domestic violence refers to a wide range of conduct, from threats and verbal harassment to the use of physical force. Domestic violence includes all forms of abuse, from screaming and pushing, to emotional and physical abuse. Each year, approximately 1 million women suffer from nonfatal violence perpetrated by an intimate partner. More than 4 million women experience a serious assault by someone they know or love. Continue reading “DOMESTIC VIOLENCE DEFENSE”



Criminal Defense Lawyer in Sacramento


As soon as someone turns 18, they are considered an adult with privileges such as being able to vote, enter into contracts, get married and have “freedom”. However, everything up until 18, they are considered minors and are under the care of a parent or parental guardian, which also means any legal implications they may get caught up in.

The California juvenile court process begins with an arrest. If the incident is not that serious, law enforcement may just give the minor a warning and let them go. But if the matter is serious, they will take the minor to juvenile hall and as a parent you want to make sure you defend and protect your child so make sure to contact an experienced criminal defense lawyer in Sacramento at the Law Offices of Alin Cintean who can help guide you through the process. Continue reading “JUVENILES AND THE LAW”



Criminal Attorney in Sacramento

Crimes Against Another Person

Crimes against persons is a term used to define the general group of criminal offenses that involve bodily harm, the threat of such, and other actions against individuals.

There are 9 types of crimes against persons as defined by California Law:

  • Homicide
  • Mayhem
  • Kidnapping
  • Hostages
  • Robbery
  • Attempts to Kill
  • Assault with Intent to Commit a Felony Other than Murder
  • False Imprisonment and Human Trafficking
  • Assault and Battery

Continue reading “CRIMES AGAINST A PERSON”



Criminal Defense Lawyer in Sacramento

There are few areas of law as hotly contested as that of guns and weapons.

The state of California lies at one extreme while a large portion of the country lies at another, where guns and weapons are quite loosely regulated. Since individuals cross state lines quite frequently, it can be complicated to understand what exactly is permitted in each state.

Weapons Charges in California

California regulates guns and other weapons quite strictly, so there are many laws related to this subject. Due to this high regulation, it can be difficult to understand what is legal and what is illegal. Some of the more common weapons charges in California include:

  • Carrying a concealed firearm
  • Improper handling of a gun in a car
  • Aggravated assault with a deadly weapon (includes firearms)
  • Firing a gun into a building or structure that is occupied
  • Selling firearms
  • Possessing an assault weapon

Continue reading “WEAPON CHARGES”



Sacramento Criminal Attorney

Property crimes are the most common crimes committed in California

Property crimes in the State of California include many common offenses that relate to the theft or destruction of someone else’s property. Crimes against property can range from low-level misdemeanors to general felonies. By definition, a property crime is the theft or damage of another’s property, and does not involve the use of force or threat of force against. In some cases, more serious violent felonies including robbery are considered crimes against property.

Property crimes are the most common crimes committed in California, and after years of declining property crime rates in the state, California has seen an explosion in crimes against property. Experts argue on the exact nature of the increase, but the numbers are clear. Continue reading “PROPERTY CRIMES”



Sacramento Criminal Attorney

Can I get arrested for a DUI if I am driving Tesla in Autopilot Mode?

It is no secret that driving under the influence of alcohol or any other intoxicating substance is illegal. Generally, if you get caught driving under the influence of alcohol, you may be charged pursuant to Vehicle Code section 23152(a) VC, and driving with a blood alcohol concentration (BAC) of 0.08% or higher per Vehicle Code section 23152(b) VC.

So the question arises, whether you can still get a DUI conviction of you get caught driving Tesla in autopilot mode. Some may argue that the autopilot is engaged and the intoxicated individual is technically not driving the vehicle. However, this argument fails. Continue reading “DUI & TESLA AUTOPILOT MODE”



Sacramento Criminal Lawyer

Juvenile Crimes in Northern California

When a minor gets in trouble with the law in the state of California, they go through a different system then adults. Legal proceedings occur in juvenile delinquency court, which has its own terminology and procedures that differ from adult court. If your child has been charged for a crime, make sure to speak to a Sacramento criminal lawyer immediately.

What Happens When a Minor is Arrested?

There are several things that may occur when an underaged individual gets in trouble with the police. Upon arrest, any of the following may happen:

  • Make a record of the arrest and release the individual
  • Send the individual to an agency that will care for or counsel the underaged person
  • Demand the individual come back to the police station, called being “cited back”
  • Give the individual a “Notice to Appear.” This article contains details of the arrest and when to appear in court.
  • Place the individual in juvenile hall, called “detention.” The individual will be allowed to place two phone calls. One call must be to a parent, guardian, relative, or boss. The other call must be to a lawyer.

Continue reading “JUVENILE CRIMES”



Sacramento Criminal Defense Attorney


Most domestic battery arrests occur in the home, and most simple non-domestic battery arrests occur in bars or public places. Regardless of the type of battery, they both usually begin by someone calling the police on a recorded 911 call. In many instances the “victim” does not want to have the Defendant arrested.

Aside from driving charges like DUI or driving while license suspended, assault and battery charges levied against individuals are a close third in the total number of arrests for criminal charges in the State of California. An arrest for a battery often occurs in the house, in front of children, friends, or family members. The stigma attached to having a battery conviction can have dramatic consequences, since it is a crime of violence

California law enforcement is trained to arrest individuals if they believe they can prove who the primary aggressor(s) is, or if there are visible signs of injury. It is important to remember, that burden for an arrest in California is probable cause. That does NOT mean that you are guilty beyond a reasonable doubt of the charge you were arrested for. Getting a trained battery lawyer on your side must be done fast, as evidence such as videos, witness statements, receipts, and pictures of injury to alleged defendants will disappear as time goes on. Continue reading “ASSAULT & BATTERY”